Day 57 – Chicken Souvlaki

April 10, 2007: Chicken Souvlaki, Rice and Asparagus

Having not really eaten food for some time, it’s hard to get back on the horse.

Easter dinner on Sunday at the in-laws was a very low-key affair. My mother in law is a great cook, but I just didn’t want to push things.

Monday night we all seemed to be bouncing back so I went to the butchers to pick up a chicken. Sadly, there were no chickens left and not much choice under his counter.

I picked up six chicken souvlakis and stopped at the green grocers to grab some Asparagus (even though it’s freezing here, I can still hope it’s Spring).

The aspargus was pretty woody and thick, I snapped it and let each stem break where it wanted.

The aspargus was blanched for three minutes in heavily salted water, whacked in an ice-bath and then finished on the grill with a bit of olive oil and lemon.

The Verdict
There were just enough leftovers for the kids lunch on Tuesday. It was very nice to sit down together at the table and have a meal together, hard to believe it’s been 10 days since we last managed to do so…

Leave a comment