Day 70 – Shrimp Linguine

Tuesday April 24, 2007: Shrimp Linguine

The kids wanted pasta, K. wanted fish so I thought I’d try to make everybody happy.

I went through all of my cookbooks looking for a pasta and shrimp recipe and was stunned that I came up empty. Not even the voluminous Silver Spoon had an entry for shrimp and pasta.

So I diced an onion and a red pepper and sauteed them in a few tablespoons of olive oil. Deglazed the pan with about 1/4 cup of dry white wine, added some frozen spinach (gotta get greens and iron into my kids any way that I can), a few tablespoons of tomato sauce, a pinch of sauce and brought it all to a simmer.

When the pasta was al dente, I threw the shrimp into the bubbling sauce for about a minute, tossed in the hot pasta, gave it all a stir and got it into various plates and bowls.

Served with grated parm, a green salad and a baguette…

The Verdict

The kids loved the pasta and the sauce, in fact there were no leftovers, but as the meal progressed they ate less and less shrimp until we had a pile of shrimp sitting in the pan.

For some reason, the kids just wouldn’t eat the shrimp (even when I chopped them up and tried to hide them in their second and third helpings, the kids still ate around them).

Not sure if I’d make this again. I liked it, as did K. but it seemed wasted on the kids. Maybe if I made it with chicken we’d get more protein into them…

Leave a comment